Writing Emotions

I seek to do one thing when I write. I seek to write a single moment, how the breath feels between lovers lips, how music courses through our being when a song strikes a chord with our past. I seek to express a first meeting, the gentle rocking of a lovers embrace, and the salty taste of loss.

When I put finger to keyboard, I am not writing about a character or an event. Take a zombie apocalypse, a nuclear holocaust, or a frenzied dragon and you will find one overall theme: humanity in all its colors, be it hateful, loving, crazed or complacent, for when we lose our humanity is when the darkness wins.

Leave a Reply

